Information checked as of 9 August 2026. A Chinese used EV may be advertised with a CLTC figure while a related export-market version is described with WLTP range. The numbers are not interchangeable labels for the same test. A professional buyer should preserve the test cycle, exact variant and source with every range claim.
The two official reference points
China’s current GB/T 18386.1-2021 is the test-method standard for energy consumption and range of light-duty electric vehicles. It was issued on 9 March 2021 and took effect on 1 October 2021. The official scope covers relevant M1, M2 and N1 vehicles within its mass limits.
UNECE Regulation No. 154 contains the Worldwide harmonized Light vehicles Test Procedure, or WLTP. It is an official regulatory reference with English, French and Russian texts. Neither standard supplies a universal consumer formula for converting every CLTC figure into WLTP range. Vehicle configuration and test conditions matter.
A current AION V example
Official GAC pages illustrate why the label must travel with the number. GAC’s July 2024 global AION V launch release stated a range of 750 km. The current GAC Global model page states “up to 650 km” but does not place a test-cycle label beside that figure in the extracted model-page text. A GAC Europe article dated 24 July 2026 states an AION V WLTP range of up to 510 km.
Those figures should not be presented as three measurements of one identical vehicle. They may relate to different markets, configurations, batteries, homologation data or published specifications. The responsible conclusion is not that one number is wrong; it is that a buyer must identify which vehicle, cycle and market each number describes.
Why a fixed conversion formula fails
- Test procedure: speed profile, duration, temperature and other laboratory conditions differ between regulatory cycles.
- Battery and trim: usable energy, battery option, motor output, drive layout and vehicle software may vary under the same model name.
- Wheels and equipment: tyre specification, wheel size, mass and optional equipment can affect certified consumption and range.
- Market version: charging hardware, thermal management, software, safety equipment and homologated specifications may differ.
- Current condition: an official new-vehicle range figure does not measure the present battery condition of a used vehicle.
- Actual use: speed, weather, heating or air conditioning, terrain, load, tyre pressure and driving behaviour affect real-world distance.
A shortcut such as “CLTC multiplied by 0.8 equals WLTP” may look convenient, but it creates false precision. At most, a business may develop an internal planning estimate from its own documented fleet and route data. Such an estimate must be labelled as an estimate, not as an official WLTP result.
Range-normalization checklist for buyers
- Capture the source wording: record the exact published range, test-cycle label, source URL and access date. If the cycle is not stated, mark it “not stated.”
- Identify the car: match the original Chinese model name, English name, trim, model year, manufacture date, drive layout and VIN-specific specification.
- Confirm the battery: request the chemistry, rated and available usable capacity where documented, and note pack replacement or repair.
- Separate new from used: keep the manufacturer’s rated new-vehicle range apart from any current diagnostic result or seller estimate.
- Compare like with like: compare CLTC with CLTC or WLTP with WLTP when ranking vehicles. If cycles differ, show separate columns instead of converting.
- Check charging: range does not establish connector compatibility, AC capability or DC charging performance in the destination market.
- Plan conservatively: use route, climate, payload and charging data relevant to the buyer’s operation, with a clearly identified safety margin.
Better wording for a vehicle listing
A transparent entry could read: “Manufacturer-rated range: 510 km WLTP for the referenced European specification; confirm the exact VIN and market variant. Current used-battery range not independently tested.” For a Chinese-market vehicle it could say: “Manufacturer-rated range: [X] km CLTC; not a WLTP figure. Actual range varies with vehicle condition and use.”
This wording preserves useful manufacturer data without promising that the used vehicle will reproduce it. It also prevents a translated listing from silently changing CLTC into a generic “range” number.
Limits and disclaimer
Official range data are standardized reference results, not a guarantee of real-world distance. This original article does not certify a vehicle, calculate destination-market homologation or provide a battery-health conclusion. Buyers should verify the exact VIN, source specification, current condition, charging compatibility and local requirements before purchase.
Sources

